## Meeting of the Board of Directors Upper Illinois River Valley Development Authority January 11, 2022 Morris. Illinois

## **Members Present**

Robert Bakewell, Marshall County Appointment
Kevin Considine, Lake County Appointment
Pam Cumpata, Kane County Appointment
Terrence Dee, Governor's Appointment, Lake
Michael Guilfoyle, LaSalle County Appointment
Melissa Hernandez, Governor's Appointment, Kane
Kevin Olson, Grundy County Appointment
Peter Olson, Governor's Appointment, Kendall
John Spiros, Governor's Appointment, Lake
Susan Van Weelden, Governor's Appointment, Kane
Estelle Walgreen, Governor's Appointment, Lake
Reed Wilson, Putman County Appointment

## **Members Absent**

Dan Koukol, Kendall County Appointment Kurt Schneider, McHenry County Appointment

## **Others Present**

Andrew Hamilton, Executive Director Warren Ribley, Assistant Executive Director

The meeting was called to order at 12:00 p.m. by Chairman Kevin Olson. Roll call was taken identifying the presence of a quorum. It was moved by Member Van Weelden and seconded by Member Walgreen to approve the agenda as presented. Following discussion, the motion carried. It was moved by Treasurer Bakewell and seconded by Member Reed to approve the minutes of the October 12, 2021, meeting and the minutes and actions of all previous meetings as presented. Following discussion, the motion carried. Treasurer's Report was presented. It was moved by Member Wilson and seconded by Member Van Weelden to approve the Treasurer's Report. Following discussion, the motion carried.

Ordinance No. 22-001 - Viakable Manufacturing LLC Enterprise Zone Project - LaSalle IL - Viakable Manufacturing LLC is planning an approximate 38,500 square foot expansion at its LaSalle IL manufacturing facility located at 2969 Chartres Street. The expansion will consist of an investment of \$8,590,000 and will create 6 new jobs. The investment includes new construction and renovation of approximately \$2,956,000 and new equipment of approximately \$5,634,000. The new construction will consist of two components. The first component is an approximate 8,500 square foot metal building addition on the west side of the existing facility and will include two new recessed dock door areas for raw material cooper staging. The second component is an approximate 30,000 square foot extrusion manufacturing process building located on the south side of the existing facility. This component will necessitate the minor demolition of a canopy and other site features to allow

the new building footprint and removal of a pre-existing sanitary facility, manholes and a lift station to be replaced by a connection to the existing sanitary system. The new equipment includes components for new extrusion lines thin cooper wire and transformers, compressors, and chillers to support the new production equipment. Construction is expected to begin in the spring of 2022 and be

5

completed by the end of the year. Viakable Manufacturing LLC is an affiliate of CME Wire and Cable. The LaSalle facility was added in 2018 on an existing site formerly occupied by Sundstrand.

Thereupon, Chairman Olson read the Resolution. It was moved by member Reed and seconded by Member Van Weelden to approve the Ordinance as presented. Discussion took place. Chairman Kevin Olson proposed the question and directed that the roll be called for a vote upon the motion to approve. Upon the roll being called, the following members voted AYE: Robert Bakewell, Kevin Considine, Pam Cumpata, Terrence Dee, Michael Guilfoyle, Melissa Hernandez, Kevin Olson, Peter Olson, John Spiros, Susan Van Weelden, Estelle Walgreen and

Reed Wilson. The following members voted NAY: none. The following members were absent: Dan Koukol, Kurt Schneider.

WHEREUPON Chairman Olson declared the motion carried and the Resolution adopted and did direct Secretary Hernandez to record the same in full in the records of the Authority. With no further business, it was moved by Member Bakewell and seconded by Member Reed to adjourn. The motion carried. The meeting adjourned at 12:34 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Melissa Hernandez, Secretary